Hi Old Friend

Today I saw an old friend from my past.
She barely stopped,
she was moving so fast.
Hurrying and shushing
and looking quite flushed.
The frazzled kind,
not contoured with blush.
I had to double take
her brows in a frown.
Her clothes mis-matched,
her hair in a crown.
She carried herself differently
tired and raw.
A beauty that shines
more visibly before.
She swayed side to side
a baby on her hip
she stared in the distance
chewing her lip.
I decided to approach
and reconnect with this girl.
To reminder her that she
was conquering the world.
She told me her life
had completely changed.
That the pieces of her
had been rearranged.
Pieces left for months
on the floor
so it took her a while
to feel whole once more.
Then she said, “I get it now,
this is who I’m meant to be”,
and I actually believed her
as she stared back at me.
She was tired yet knowing.
A world of content.
In a place so new
for where she was meant.
I took a deep breath
as I left our embrace,
from the girl in the mirror
with a smile on my face.

Leave a comment