Wrapped in Love

Dear Oliver,

You woke up screaming this morning. Usually throwing you on the boob will settle you instantly, but NOPE. Now I’m fully awake trying to see what is wrong. Your diaper leaked and you were soaked. That must be it. After getting your wet clothes off… usually that will calm you… but NOPE! “Shhhh, Oliver, it’s ok little man, it’s ok, shhhh.” I’m repeating this over and over while I change your diaper. Why are you still crying? These things usually work. I’m working at a faster pace now, Cody is now awake and all 3 of us are feeling frustrated for different reasons. I lay you against your dad to try and warm you back up now that you are changed and cleaned up. You are still upset, but the crying isn’t as intense. I crawl into bed on the other side of you and your dad and I get you to calm down with some loving shushes and you finally start to nurse. You fall asleep, nuzzled between mom and dad, holding both of our hands, content. Baby boy, our life together will have wins and it will have challenges, but you will always be wrapped in our LOVE.

Leave a comment